Virginia Broker Pre-Licensing How to Upgrade Your VA Real Estate License
5 Steps Toward Getting Your Virginia Broker License
Getting an upgraded license might seem a bit daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process. Read on to learn the five steps you’ll need to take before upgrading your real estate license in Virginia.Buy your Virginia Pre-Licensing »
Confirm you are eligible to become a broker.
To qualify, one must be actively engaged in real estate full-time (average 40 hours per week) as a salesperson for 36 of the 48 months preceding application.
Complete the 180-Hr. Virginia pre-licensing broker coursework.
You must complete a Real Estate Brokerage course. In addition to a Real Estate Brokerage course, you must complete either:
- The three Broker-Specific Courses of Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Finance and Real Estate Law; or
- Two of the Broker Specific Courses and one of the following Broker-Related Courses:
- Real Estate Abstracting
- Real Estate Contract Law
- Real Estate Economics
- Real Estate Feasibility Analysis
- Real Estate Investments
- Real Estate Math
- Real Estate Property Management
- Real Estate Property Law
- CCIM (all parts)
- CRB (all parts)
- GRI (all parts)
- SIR/SIOR (all parts)
- Business Law
- Commercial Mortgage Lending
- Land Planning and Use
- Urban Development
NOTE: Courses taken to meet continuing education requirements are not acceptable for pre-license credit in Virginia.
The CE Shop offers the mandatory Real Estate Brokerage course in addition to the three Broker-Specific Courses through its advanced web-based platform, where the best of the classroom is combined with the flexibility and convenience of online learning. We prepare you for your licensing exam while providing you with the knowledge you need to begin a promising career in real estate.
Complete the course final exams with an approved proctor.
After you complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exam, there is a 50-question final exam for each course. The passing score for this exam must be at least a 75%. One retake is allowed.
Please see our proctoring final exam instructions and process page for details about general requirements and steps.
Schedule, take, and pass your licensing exam with PSI.
The Virginia broker state exam is administered by PSI. Detailed information about the exam and how to apply for an exam can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin provided by PSI.
The exam will be 125 questions with a time allotted of 160 minutes. The exam costs $60. Please note this cost may change at any time.
Note: A digital photo of the candidate is required to take the PSI exam. Details and instructions for completing this requirement are available here.
You will be electronically fingerprinted at one of PSI Virginia sites, during regular testing hours. Fingerprinting is mandatory as before submitting an application for a Virginia real estate license, each applicant must submit a set of fingerprints to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange. The Johnson City, TN and Salisbury, MD test sites do not offer fingerprinting. Contact the Board if you cannot be electronically fingerprinted at a PSI Virginia site.
Apply for your license.
Once you pass your Virginia real estate broker examination with PSI you will be provided directions in your passing score report on how to apply for your license. After you submit your licensing materials and pay the licensing fee, you will be on your way to becoming a broker.
The license application must be received by the Board within 45 calendar days of the Board’s receipt of the fingerprint results or the applicant will have to pay to be fingerprinted again before a license will be issued.
Engaging Content Created for You
There’s no reason you should be working on boring topics. Our LEAP platform provides the most engaging material to make studying fun and simple, helping further your success on your exam date and beyond.Take Our Course Tour »